Director's Message

Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya, Indore (DAVV) formerly, established in 1964 at Indore - the pride city of Malwa, is the leading university in the central part of India.Initially it was known as the University of Indore and the jurisdiction was limited to the district of Indore. Later in the year 1988 university was renamed after the famous and benevolent ruler of Malwa i.e. Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar.

During reorganization of the Universities the jurisdiction of the university was expanded over to Indore division spanning over Six Districts. In Indore division, here are fifty four development blocks, out of which forty development blocks are identified as tribal blocks. In all there are 153 affiliated colleges imparting education at UG/PG level in almost all the basic & professional disciplines Most of them also provide the facilities of doctoral research. University now has 6000 students in its campus and total 1, 20,000 students in its affiliated colleges. University has 16 Faculties.

DAVV has envisaged the need of qualified professionals in all walks of life and society. It has encompassed the frontline areas of education including Science, Applied Science, Computer Science, Information Technology, Biotechnology, Law, Journalism, Tourism, Management and Engineering.

DAVV is a state university supported by both, the government of MP and university Grant Commission (UGC). In addition to its own departments, it has got over 153 affiliated colleges. It also provides centres and forums for learning and knowledge exchange for many small and medium scale industrial units and business houses, located in Indore, Dewas, Pithampur etc.

DAVV has also organized academic events like Indian Science Congress, International Conference, Vice-Chancellors' meets and youth festival in the past decade and achieved professional excellence. Research publication in National and International Journals, participation in editorial boards and book writing by university professors are a regular feature confirming to its academic excellence.

DAVV has three campuses: Nalanda Parisar, Takshashila Parisar and Avanti Parisar. Office of the Vice-Chancellor, Administratative Block, Office of Dean- Student's Welfare, Priting Press, School of Economics, Centre of Employment Information's etc. are located at Nalanda Parisar. All Other Centres, Schools, Departments, Institutes and Central Library of the university are located at Takshashila Parisar and Avanti Parisar. Apart from individual computing facility for different departments there is a large and the most modern IT center in Takshashila parisar for all DAVV students, faculty and other staff of the university.